Campaign Development – Branding & Packaging

The brand I have chosen to redesign is Dove. Dove operate in over 80 countries, selling both men and women products, they are owned by Unilever and originated in the United Kingdom. Their logo current is a silver silhouette of a dove bird, I felt as though this was too simplistic and wanted to change it to be more modern and represent who they are and what they stand for.

IMG_8073

First of all I sketched out some rough ideas, I wanted to still keep the dove as the main focus, however designing it into more of a real-life dove which appears to be flying. My first design was three doves (gold, silver and bronze), with a peace sign behind in navy to stick to the same colour scheme which Dove already have. However during my formative, it was expressed that the colour of the peace sign was too hard and rough, it was feminine enough and didn’t seem as though it was aimed towards my target audience of women ages 30 to 50’s.

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 17.02.59Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 17.03.57Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 17.04.08Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 17.04.36

Above are my testing logos, the first is the original dove used in the already existing logo of Dove, however I decided to add a peace sign behind it to match and also represent the peace and equality Dove as a company represent. They want to empower women (and men), but make women feel as though they can be happy with whatever body shape, skin colour or however they look, able to feel good. That’s when I decided that one bird, isn’t enough and that if I design a real looking dove, it would feel more symbolic to the cliental. However during my formative I was given the advice of changing the colour scheme and not having it has masculine as my target audience is predominantly women.

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 17.03.41

Therefore I decided to change the peace sign to a pastel pink and have the colours of the doves different skin colours. This is to symbolise equality within women, peacefulness and togetherness, everybody is the same no matter their shape, size or skin colour. Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 20.00.58Above is the logo with the brand name, the typeface used was ‘Snell Roundhand‘ to match the already existing typeface of Dove. However, though it isn’t an exact match because the original logo was designed by Ian Brignell, he designed everything from the bird to the typeface for Dove. So I decided to have a font that closely matches, but different and decided to make it thicker to standout more.

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 20.01.24

I felt this colour scheme was appropriate as all the colours combine well with each other and nothing clashes. Below are the media channels in how my logo(s) will be used;

 Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 21.14.18

The favicon, 16px by 16px. I used the doves which I had created for the logo and decided to do each individual dove a different skin colour to put emphasis on we are all one, we are all the same, we can be united and come together. Considering what is happening in the world today, I felt as though the symbolic reasoning behind this favicon was fitting. Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 17.03.41

On screen logo, 200px by 200x 72dpi. As described before, I changed the logo a lot from the beginning to now, but the colour and logo can fit anywhere easily on a screen and because it was edited on illustrator and done in pixels, it is easily adaptable to any size. This design will also be used for the print logo, 120mm by 120mm, 300dpi.

 

Once the logo was completed I decided to move onto the packaging. There were some slight changes which were made to their already existing products. My original idea was to create a range of three or four different sized bottles for dove which would then be representing different shapes and body sizes of different women. However, I was told to focus on a single product alone. Therefore, I chose one bottle and made it while to hold and added a top and bottom lid, the top being the shampoo and bottom being the conditioner, an all in one with different compartments.

packaging 2.0packaging

The label design had all the similarities as what any shampoo and conditioner product would have one it, the ingredients used, logo and branding of the company and owner, but also chose to do different languages so more people are able to read and understand the product. The major change I decided to do was to put a little background story on the back of what the company represents and what they do and how they do it. Originally I chose to have a joke, puzzle and game on the back as I thought whilst people are in the bath they can get bored and decided to read the back of the bottle. I did research and found that many people do this when on the toilet as well as in the bath grabbing bottle to pass the time. However, during my formative I was told that this doesn’t happen and not many people would care to read a joke or do a puzzle whilst washing their hair.

Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 13.41.13Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 13.41.21

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Above are some images taken from the development process, of the packaging, label and the logo designs. It shows the many changes made and from the beginning to the end.

Once all of the details were finalised and have been completed, the final stage was to create a pack shot for my product. I decided to have my packshot as though it was on shelf in a shower room to have the front and back on display as they are both key parts to the bottle being different to the standard ones now. I have created a couple of pack shots as I had several ideas to begin with, but favourite is the shelf in the shower room, however I though I could’ve had a vanilla pod or flowers behind the bottle to represent ‘mother nature’.

 Screen Shot 2017-06-06 at 13.56.30Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 21.14.34Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 21.14.43

 

 

 

 

Overall, I feel as though I have learnt a lot about how different companies advertise their brands differently as to start with I was looking at a clothing range which was completely different to how Dove advertise their products. Some thing’s could have gone better than others, I feel as though the colour scheme has worked well with the product. However, the pack shots could’ve been more in-depth or could have done a bigger range of products as I was going to do to begin with.

Leave a Reply

