Five Things I have learnt

Below are pieces I have created myself with the inspiration of others such as; an artist, an illustrator, a graphics designer, an author and a film maker. I have interpreted their designs / ideas to create my own pieces. I have used all different types of software that we have learnt over the first semester at university which are; Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator and After Effect. All of these I had different skills, some I found easy to use and others much more difficult, however I wanted to stretch my skill-set and brach out to use all of the softwares in one way or anything throughout this process.


1. Piet Mondrian – How To Make Shapes Move

I used After Effects for this piece of work, I was still very new to using this software and was difficult getting to grasps with the tools and how to make various things move. The initial idea came to me when researching different artists and was thinking of how to incorporate a moving image piece, instead of a standard still image. Therefore I decided to do Piet Mondrian’s “Composition with large red plane, yellow, black and blue”and use the squares and rectangles to begin off of the page and to all come in and join together to create Piet Mondrian’s piece of work. I added a video inside of one of the squares, which is a video of the very first piece of After Effect work I did at the beginning of the course, and to show how I’ve progressed and have actually learned how to make shapes move properly and understand how to do it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


2. Luke Lucas – Keep Things Super Simple

I found Luke Lucas’ work via a YouTube tutorial and discovered a lot of his work to my typography illustrations. I decided I could interpret one of his designs using his ribboning typography, whereby I had to firstly draw out my designs and scan into the computer to use the pen tool on Illustrator to go over the lines. I was then able to create the different letters and capture each fold and bend which a ribbon would make. I used a real ribbon to be able to draw accurately as to what it would look like, this helped me a lot to ensure what I was doing was going to be most realistic and ‘keeping it super simple’.  The colours I used at first were bold and tried to get a light and dark shading effect, however I felt as though it didn’t suit my intentions and therefore change the colour to a silver gradient to represent a shiny ribbon instead. The black background is to make it standout and to also match with Luke Lucas’ designs, which has linked into keeping it simple, because sometimes simplicity is the best for your designs.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

screen-shot-2016-12-13-at-17-53-37


3. Milton Glaser – Creative Minds, Big Ideas 

Originally Milton Glaser was going to be my illustrator, however I changed my ideas and had him as my graphics designer. My first idea was Milton’s poster design for Bob Dylan, which you can see drawn in my sketch book, however I changed my mind and used the coke advert design of Milton Glaser’s work. I had traced over the colourful swirling pattern to imitate the design, using the same colours and sizing, however I changed the coke bottle and used a silhouette of my head. I was going to insert a white image of a brain and then have the writing incased in the brain, but then decided to have the writing cover the whole of the bottom half of the page using the same font as coke. The large swirling patterns are to represent all of the different ideas coming out of my mind, therefore a ‘creative mind’ equals ‘big ideas’ to then be able to create a masterpiece for everyone to enjoy. Therefore if you cannot be creative, your ideas will never be big enough to be seen by everyone.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

screen-shot-2016-12-14-at-13-29-46


4. JK Rowling – Save Your Work

My initial outcome was going to be Roald Dahl, as you can see in my sketch book, but my idea changed when I thought of JK Rowling and able to incorporate Harry Potter as he was a wizard-ing student and this is what the type of people have to be in the creative industry, we have to perform like wizards and creative masterpieces. Therefore the need of saving your work repeatedly is very important. Photoshop is a software I have the most experience with in the past, however only with the basics, so doing something with typography on Photoshop was a new technique but also using masks properly and the levels of shadowing on Daniel Radcliffe’s face.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

screen-shot-2016-12-13-at-19-14-12


5. James Cameron – Fail And Fail Better 

This one was created on InDesign, it is to imitate the movie poster of Titanic and is supposed to have humour – “we are all in the same boat” and the Titanic being iconically known for sinking. As you can see in the first images, the background picture was going to be of just the ship, however the real film poster used this image and I felt as though it fitted much better. I created the title ‘Titanic II –  Fail And Fail Better’ on Illustrator by using the 3D – extrude & bevel option to give the title a tilted view and making it stand out with a 3D effect. Then created the rest of the poster on InDesign as it was mainly adding text to the image and ordering it to make it actually seem as though its a film poster. I feel as though this one is something everyone will understand because we really are all in the same boat, but at some point we will all fail at something but the most important thing is for us to be able to learn from our mistakes and to never give up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

screen-shot-2016-12-13-at-21-33-29

Leave a Reply

